Weather And Motivation

Here in my neck of the woods of Wyoming the weather today was pretty crappy. You know the kind I’m talking about cold, damp, and every form of precipitation that can fall from the sky does. Yeah, waking up to that was not pleasant.  I was supposed to go for a run today, but being that the weather was not even thinking about cooperating I decided to stay indoors and do the run. I am happy to say that I did run, but getting myself motivated to do it is another story. I definitely wanted to stay curled up under the covers and not get out of bed.  I finally got myself motivated to do the 20 minute run while watching my TiVo.

I am not a runner and never have been.  I got an app called Learn 2 Run. It’s pretty cool, there are 5 different programs to turn anyone into a runner. They have a mile program to get you running a 10 minute mile, a mile to 5k program, 5k program, 5k to 10k program, and finally a 10k program. I am working on the mile program being that the thought of running for 10 minutes straight makes me envision passing out dead.  Although, I am kind of excited about it because I am starting at week 4, each program is 8 weeks long.  Anyway, I’m starting at week 4 because the first weeks barely have any running, so little it’s 15 seconds at a time.  And, well I can run for more than 15 seconds at a time. With week 4 the longest time of consecutive running is 1.5 minutes. I can do that. I ran today even though it was all I could do to get up, but I’m glad I did it.

After my run workout it was a lot easier for me to move into m. Pilates workout that I wanted to do. I did 25 minutes of Pilates and then had myself some lunch, and of course looked outside and quickly became unmotivated.

It was definitely an act of will to get my butt in gear. I had some vacuuming, dusting, and cleaning to do. I was so not motivated that I didn’t do the cleaning until 7pm. Yeah nothing like dusting at that time of night. Now, I’m sneezing like a crazy person, stirring up all that dust. Ughhh.

After today I am even more convinced than ever that the weather is a big factor in my motivation. When it’s crappy and dreary out I want to do nothing, and well I need to find a way to not have that happen. Winter is coming here and there are going to be lots of crappy, dreary days ahead of me here. I will say that I am proud of myself for working out and doing all of the things that I needed to do, just not as early as I had wanted to get it done. But, still I DID IT!

I reached my steps goal today, of course I had to get myself up and going and well I work well with rewards so I told myself that if I got my steps met today I would have a York Peppermint Patty. So, yes I’m enjoying one now and loving every delicious bite.

Here’s hoping tomorrow’s weather is better than today’s and I’m more motivated.  I also have some yard work to do that would be definitely better to do in weather that does not have liquid falling from the sky.

Happy Monday all.

Leave a Reply

