I May Be A Runner Yet

I’ve been working on running. I’m not a runner, I’m not even sure if I’d be a runner if I was being chased. After about 30 seconds of running I’m winded, gasping for air, and seconds from a heart attack. Okay, that may be an exaggeration, the heart attack part, but I feel like I’m going to have one.

I have a bunch of friends that have been starting to run along their weight loss journey, and have all said the same thing. It’s hard at first, but every day it gets easier. I’ve also seen all of these fun runs popping up, and well they do look like a lot of fun. But, a 5k I think I’d die.

As a started this journey I thought of things I’d like to be able to do. And, running a mile without stopping is one of those things. I found an app that I am in love with. The Learn 2 Run App, is great. There are 5 running programs to train in. Mile, mile to 5k, 5k, 5k to 10k, and finally 10k. I’m currently working on the mile program.

The program is 8 weeks long, and the end result is to run a 10 minute mile. I actually started at week 4, the first 3 weeks of the program were a bit to easy for me. Who would of thought a running program to easy for me, the non-runner.  Every week of the program increases the amount of time you are running.

Today started week 7 of the program for me, and well I’ll admit it I was a bit nervous. Today’s workout called for a 5 minute run. Run for 5 minutes straight, uhmmm yeah I don’t remember the last time if ever I ran for 5 minutes straight. I’m so excited to say I did it, and it wasn’t that hard. I was able to do it, and wasn’t even counting down the seconds till it ended. I was actually a little shocked when the buzzer went off saying it was time to walk.

Now of course I am nowhere near running at 6mph to get that 10 minute mile, but hey I’m running for minutes on end, the speed will come later. My plan is after next week when I finish the 8 week program, I’ll start over again at week 4 and start working on improving my speed. I think a 10 minute mile is something that I can achieve by the New Year.

I know that the more I keep working at it the more improvement I’ll see. And, as for those fun runs, I’ll be ready for them come this summer.

2 responses

    • Good for you, stick with it, I’d love to hear how it goes for you. Like I said 5 minutes of straight running was something I would of laughed about if someone said 3 weeks ago I’d be able to do it.

Leave a Reply

