It Was An Early Morning

I’m a nanny for a family here in Wyoming, well part-time nanny. The kids go to school and daycare all day, but I go over and watch them before dropping off at school and daycare and then pick them up after their day until mom and/or dad get home.

Usually, my days when nannying start at 6:20ish. Well that’s when I arrive at their house. Today, was different, mom is out-of-town at a conference and well dad always has to be at work early. Life of the oil industry, I know it well my husband is an engineer in the field as well. This morning I had to be at the house at 5:30, and well if you know anything about me, mornings are not my thing. However, I decided last night that I’d make the best use of the 90 minutes before the kids get up, and I get my workouts for the day done. I packed a bag with my yoga mat and DVD, and also my kettlebell and DVD. I was ready.

The pre-packing of my equipment made it pretty much impossible for me to not workout. I had lugged the heavy bag with me, and I had everything I needed, there were no excuses. And, well I did it! By 7am this morning I had done my strength training and yoga workouts and was on my way to reaching my daily steps goal.

As much as I don’t really care for early mornings, it was nice to be done with my workouts by 7, and once I got home at 8:45 I had the whole day to do whatever I wanted. I didn’t come home and immediately set out to do my workouts, I’d already completed them. I of course will not be getting up at 5:30 every morning, but on days when I do have an early morning I’ll make the plan and get the exercising out-of-the-way.

And, I’m finally feeling more energetic, I’m not feeling the blah way I have the last 2 days, I’m going to make it through this.

Leave a Reply

