Monthly Recap

Yesterday, was day 28 of this journey, which means I have survived a month of being more active and eating healthier. Therefore, making for a healthier, fitter me.

This month I’ve gone from a daily goal of walking 5,000 steps to today where I’ve increased my daily goal to 7,000 steps. I’ve worked out 24 of the last 28 days, in addition to achieving my step goals.

In the past month I’ve seen my energy increase, found myself making better food choices, have completely excluded gluten, which my doctor is happy about, and have found several little ways to incorporate more activity into my life.

This first month hasn’t been without its struggles. There are days when I don’t want to exercise, but I make myself get up and do it anyway. There is no excuse for not doing other than being lazy.  And, well I don’t want to be lazy anymore. I’ve had a few days where I’ve craved junk, and sometimes I’ve caved, but I’ve kept it in moderation. I measure and weigh things making sure I’m only taking a serving size. Sure, it’s a pain and time-consuming, but not nearly as much of a pain as being overweight is.

Over the last 4 weeks I’ve lost almost an inch off of my body, and well that doesn’t seem like much, and I don’t really notice my clothes fitting, that’s still almost an inch of fat gone from my body. Along with this I’ve lost 8.2 pounds. That’s 2 pounds a week on average. I’m happy with that! I’m working hard to make a change, and sure would I have liked to have lost more pounds and inches, yes, but I also know that I didn’t become this weight overnight, and in no way will I become my goal weight overnight. I will have to work for it.

This first month has been a success and a learning experience. Every day I become a little stronger, fitter, and healthier. Every day I learn something new about myself, and see all the potential that I have. I will be the person I know I am. I’ve survived the first month of the rest of my life and am excited to see what month 2 has in store for me.

To keep myself motivated in the working out department I’ve been making a monthly workout schedule. Everyday has what I plan to do, and well I thought I’d share it with you.

I’ve started over with the Learn 2 Run app at week 6. Since I now have my treadmill I thought it would be best, so that I can start working towards that 10 minute mile. Right now I’m running between 3.5 and 4 mph. And, well that’s not anywhere near 6 mph. So I’m starting back at week 6 where I don’t run for more than 3 minutes at a time so I can start working towards that elusive 6 mph.  I will get it and I will run a 10 minute mile. And, I guarantee you that I will share it with all of you. It will be a proud moment for this girl, who use to cringe at the idea of running, and now I look forward to my training days.

So here’s to month 1 and onto month 2.

4 responses

  1. What a great mix of exercises you’re doing, well done! And keep at it with the 10 minute mile – patience and commitment and you’ll get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

