It’s True

It’s true what they say about exercise. I woke up this morning feeling completely awful. This had happened on Sunday as well, but not this bad, and Sunday is my one day off from scheduled workouts. Today I woke up with a sore throat, headache, clogged ears, and a stuffed up nose. Yuck! So, I guess I’m going to get this head cold after all. I was hoping that since I felt so much better Monday and Tuesday I was going to be ok. Guess not.

Anyway, getting to the point of the blog. I really contemplate blowing off my scheduled workouts for the day, as I was curled up in my nice cozy bed. I was exhausted, cranky, and feeling like crap. But, as I contemplated not working out, I was trying to figure out how I’d make up my run training and I hadn’t even skipped the workout but already was feeling guilty about it. So, you guessed it I slept for another hour and then drug myself out of bed to hit the treadmill. I don’t even think I was 5 minutes into the workout, and I already started to feel better.  I definitely wasn’t feeling as exhausted yes I still was suffering from all of my head cold symptoms but I wasn’t ready to curl back up into bed.

I did my run workout plus another 10 minutes on the treadmill to get 30 minutes in, and then busted out the yoga workout, which felt pretty awesome today. I had some lunch and then headed out to take care of the snow issue. I shoveled a bit, but was feeling cold, I think I’m running a slight fever that and it’s barely in the single digits here today.  With this I busted out the snowblower, which I think is more of a workout for me then actual shoveling. That thing is heavy and hard to maneuver, when I need to turn the thing around I am basically wrestling the stupid thing. With the help of the snowblower I was able to get the job done a bit quicker, but I don’t think the calorie burn is that much different.

Now of course I am exhausted, and will be taking a bit of a nap.  I need to kick this cold in the butt now, I do not want to spend weeks sick.

I’m glad I didn’t blow of the exercise today, because I really did feel better after it. I still feel better now then I did when I woke up this morning. So, seriously listen to people when they say exercising will make you feel better. I’m also glad I didn’t blow the exercise off today because I don’t want to start making that an option, I don’t want to be making excuses as to why I’m not exercising and being active. I haven’t missed a day yet, and there is no reason to start now.

Leave a Reply

