I Was Runnnninn, And Runnnninnn

I’ve been working on this whole running thing for the last 2 months, and now that I’m into my third month I’m really starting to push myself. I’ve been training and working on my mile run, the goal is that 10-minute mile I talk about all the time.

After completing the training and being able to run for 10 minutes straight without needing to stop, or collapsing dead on the treadmill, I’ve started the training over from the beginning and am doing all of the running portions at 6mph.  Holy Crowbar Peter Pan! That is like a sprint for me right now. Good thing in week 1 of the training I’m only running a total of 1 minute, and not more than 10 seconds at a time, but still, I’m not sure my legs can move that fast sometimes. But, I’m determined to do this, I want to do some 5k fun runs this Spring and Summer, which means I need to be able to run, and I’d rather not take hours to complete them. Especially since I know that I can do this, it’s just going to take training, hard work, and dedication.  Which, I think I’ve finally got all 3.

So, with the starting over of the program, I’ve also made sure to keep doing a 10 minute run at the speed I was using before.  I don’t want to get out of the practice of going for 10 minutes. And, well you know me always with a plan of some sort, and I came up with a new one today.  Since, I’ve upped my Fitbit step goal to 9,000 steps it means a bit more movement is needed every day, and I decided well since I’m doing this 10 minutes of running every day, what if I start upping the speed at which I’m doing this run every week.  Because, let’s face it every day that I run for those 10 minutes it gets the slightest bit easier. So, with this my thought is I’m going to work on this 10 minute mile running at 6mph from both sides.  And, eventually I’ll get there and well if it takes longer than the 8 week training schedule so be it.

I can tell you this, I’m really starting to enjoy running, I look forward to every day, and yeah it’s only 10 minutes plus I walk for 5 minutes before and after as a warm up and cool down, but still I’m finding it fun. I never thought that those words would come out of my mouth, but there they are Running is Fun. I’m so into running, that I have my running shoes that only get worn to run.  They don’t go on my feet until I’m ready to start my run, and as soon as I’m done they are off my feet. I’m almost tempted to buy another pair to wear whenever because I love them. Okay, well actually I just did buy another pair REI was having a sale plus my dividend I got them for next to nothing. But, they are a different color, and well I really like my green and teal Merrells.

So, in 8 short weeks I’ve learned that I enjoy running, and I’m nowhere near those people who eat, breathe, and sleep running, but in another 8 weeks I may be. You’ll just have to check back in and see I guess.

Hope you’ve been having a good week and reaching and achieving your goals  and staying motivated.

4 responses

  1. Great job!!! 8 weeks is no time, you’ll be at that 10-minute mile before you know it! It’s amazing how quickly you can progress. I went from being a “recreational jogger” to running a 1/2 marathon in one year…all you need is passion and dedication, both of which you definitely seem to have. I look forward to continue following your running journey!!

Leave a Reply

