A Twist On Mac And Cheese

My. Bountiful Basket was quite bountiful giving me both a spaghetti squash and broccoli, which I love, along with many other tasty veggies and fruits this past week. With being gone over the weekend I found myself needing to cook the spaghetti squash and broccoli quick like before they went bad.

I decided to look on Pinterest a favorite site of mine to see what I could find that would incorporate both, and boy am I glad I did. I found a recipe for spaghetti squash Mac and Cheese, where the spaghetti squash is the Mac, of the Mac and Cheese. The recipe also called for broccoli to be mixed in with the squash, which when I make Mac and Cheese I always add broccoli to it. This recipe sounded perfect.

I made the recipe tonight, and guess what it was perfect. The spaghetti squash, broccoli, and cheese sauce all together was delicious. I have leftovers to go with tomorrow night’s dinner and I’m already dreaming about it. It was delicious.

I used to always have spaghetti squash with a little butter and parmesan cheese, but I’m so glad I’m finding new recipes to try with it. I will definitely be trying this one again. It’s low in carbs and the calories are a lot lower than your regular run of the mill Mac and Cheese, I of course won’t be giving up on real Mac and Cheese, it’s a favorite of mine, but I will be enjoying this dish from time to time.

If you’d like to give it a try, you can find the recipe here. 

If you try it let me know what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

