Remembering Those Who Sacrificed All

Today, I”m not posting about anything weight loss, health, exercise, or anything else like I normally do.

Today is a Memorial Day.  Typically this whole weekend is celebrated as the kick off to the summer season.  However, what today is really about it remembering all of those who gave their lives for our freedom.  They gave everything so that we can be with our friends and family while BBQing, and enjoying each other’s company, good food, and laughs.

I hope that you all of taken a moment today to remember all of those who have lost their lives serving our country.  I want to introduce you to a man who I never met, but my husband knew well.  Steve “Abrek” Zimmerman, was a pilot in my husband’s squadron, before the husband was the husband, who lost his life.  I remember the day, this happened.  I got a Yahoo! news update saying a plane from the Eisenhower had crashed, of course being the military there were very few details.  My husband flew that plane, it was his squadron, and their was no email or Facebook posts from him.  At the time we weren’t married, we weren’t even dating at the time, he was one of my best friends.  It was a few hours that I sat wondering if he was okay, and when finally the word came that he was okay, a flood of relief washed over me.  However, with my relief came the realization that somebody else was not going to be feeling that, they were going to be feeling the heartache and anguish I had been feeling, and then some.

I hope you take the time to read about Steve, even though I hadn’t met him personally over the years I have heard lots of stories about him.  The men and women of the Bluetails really liked him.  I’ve heard stories from my husband, and others that were lucky enough to have known Steve, and I’m sorry that I never got to meet him.  I know that the men and women who served with Steve think about him often, and today is the day we should all think about the Steves of our armed services.

Enjoy your BBQs, time with your friends and family, but take the time to remember what today is truly about: Remembering those who gave all.

DSC01011DSC01010

 

Leave a Reply

