Return To Yoga

I went to my first yoga class here in Virginia. And, well it’s a big change from the class I attended in Wyoming.
The instructor of the class was a bit intense. She also was at one point yelling at us. I was a little shocked with that. It wasn’t really yelling, but she was louder than need be in yoga and telling us all to stop what we are doing and do it like this. She was doing a ton of handstand type prep, which was a bit odd since I’m pretty sure there wasn’t a single person in the room ready for handstand poses. Also the class is advertised as a class for all levels. She wasn’t really giving any modifications. Luckily I know modifications, but I there was a beginner they would be completely overwhelmed.
The class is offered 4 times a week, so I’m going to keep going and give it a try again. I can’t go tomorrow because I have plans, which are pretty fun and I’ll fill you in tomorrow on that, but I’ll head on over on Thursday for a second round of it.
On Saturday I will be heading to another gym for a Tai Chi and Yoga class. I’m excited to see how that goes. Unfortunately it’s at 8 am which is a bit early on a Saturday, but I’m going to try it out this week. If I like it I’ll go again, if not no big deal.
It’s going to take some time to get used to new instructors and their styles of teaching, but I enjoy yoga so I’m going to try out these different classes and hopefully find an instructor I like as much as I loved Liz and Healthy Life Studio.

Leave a Reply

