Hello 2015

It’s a new year, and I have a new outlook on my lifestyle, when it comes to food.
This is the year that I’ll make it stick, I’ve got the tools and determination. Plus, I’ve learned a lot about myself over the past month.
This year will be the year that I’ll reach my healthy weight or I should say be at my fittest and healthiest. Because, well the number on the scale is just that a number. It doesn’t define who I am or how strong I am or what I am capable of. I want to be healthy, and I know I’m on my way.
Of course the past 2 days I’ve not exactly been as healthy in my food choices as I could have been. Well, the choices were good it’s just I are more than I should of. We went out last night for dinner and not that I ate bad foods I just ate more than I have been. I ate maybe 500 calories more than I normally do, which is okay to do once in a while I know this, and so I’m not upset about it, but it is something that I need to be conscious of.
Today, we had a New Years party at the house and instead of making a plate for myself, which is what I should have done I grazed. Which, of course always leads to more eating than originally planned. I however, took accountability for what I ate and logged it all. I again ate about 500-600 calories more than normal which I know was to be expected. Again I’m not upset about it, I’m a little disappointed with myself for not making a plate, because I know if I had I would of eaten a lot less than I did, but it’s okay. Next time I will definitely be making a plate.
Tomorrow, I’ll be back on track with my meal plan and planned out meals. I fair much better when I have structure for my meals. This is something that I hope over time will be something that can get a little less structured but for now it’s what works for me and I’m okay with that. I need to stick with the tricks that work for me.
Last month I did the Whole 30 to motivate me, keep me on the right track, and start becoming healthier. The month of January I’m thinking I’ll be joining a Dietbet. If you don’t know what this is, it’s just that a bet where you put up real hard earned cash in which you bet you can do whatever the bet says. I’m looking at doing a 4 week bet in which I have to lose 4% of my body weight. The way the bet works is you put up the buy in amount in the bet I’m looking at doing its $30. You get sent a special weigh in word which you have to use when you submit your pictures. You submit 2 pictures a full length view of you on your scale and a close up of what the scale reads along with your weigh in word. Don’t worry no one sees these photos except the judges to make sure you’re not doing any funny business and trying to cheat. You take these pictures twice. Once at the initial weigh in/start of the bet and then again at the end of the game. Your photos and weigh ins are looked over and if you have reached the goal 4% lost in this case you win part of the pot. The pot is divided up among all of those who complete the bet. So, as long as you lose the amount required you will at least get your initial buy in money back. They have different length bets some last 6 months. I like the idea of a 4 week bet because it’s something to keep me motivated for the month, and the following month I can pick something else. I don’t want to become complacent or bored. I want to keep up the momentum I’ve gained this past month and continue it through for the next 12 months. You can check out Dietbet here.
What are you planning on doing this year to remain healthy?

Leave a Reply

