YouTube To The Rescue

Today was supposed to be the return to the gym and fitness classes after the long 2 weeks of holiday time off. However, life has occurred.
However, it’s okay. I knew on Saturday that o wouldn’t be able to attend my classes so I made a plan, and I followed through with it.
I was going to be using YouTube today anyway, because today is the first day of the FitIn15 Challenge that I am taking part in. And, well it’s done on YouTube.
If you’re interested in joining the FitIn15 challenge it’s not too late. Log on to YouTube and subscribe to JessicaSmithTV and join the challenge. Today’s workout was great. It was just 15 minutes long hence part of the name FitIn15 not just for 2015. It was a cardio workout, but my legs definitely got a workout too. They were starting to feel the burn. She is great with the way she does her videos in offering variations for all levels. She shows how to keep it low impact or for those seasoned fitness enthusiasts how to take it up a few notches. I found myself doing some lower impact stuff and other moves at a higher intensity. It’s so simple and easy to switch from the varying degrees of difficulty. I’m looking forward to the rest of this challenge.
I followed up my 15 minute workout with a 60 minute playlist by Club Fitz. If you haven’t checked her out on YouTube yet, you should. She teaches a hip hop fitness class in Oklahoma and tapes new dances and puts them up on YouTube. They are a lot of fun. I of course need to watch them a million times to pick up the choreography but that’s okay because I’m moving the whole time. She’s also created a few playlists and I did one of her 60 minute playlists. And, yeah I’m pretty sure I’d die in one of her classes because it was 60 minutes of working my legs, abs, arms, and dancing my butt off. It’s a lot of fun and I was sweating my butt off by the end. I think I want to find a hip hop fitness class to try out from time to time here in VA.
Finally I finished off my YouTube marathon with a 60 minute Yin Yoga workout. It was a workout that focused on the spine. This workout is wonderful it’s very low impact and with yin yoga we held each pose for 3 minutes. I of course find myself deeper and deeper in the pose as the minutes progress. This is one of my favorite workouts. It’s relaxing and I definitely feel my spine elongated and the muscles around my spine relaxed a bit after this workout is complete.
So, even though I wasn’t able to hit my fitness classes I still did the types of workouts that I would of attended in class. It’s all about keeping that appointment with yourself.
And, today I did. It felt good to really workout after 2 weeks of not doing much.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

