Knee Injury

Well I saw the orthopedic yesterday and I didn’t really care for what he said. I’m off my knee for 4 weeks at least.
We will be doing an MRI but of course we need to wait for the swelling to go down before that can happen. Once we get the MRI done and see what the damage is a decision will be made. Therapy or surgery.
The surgery I’d have to have will be a long recovery time. As apparently my tibia tuberosity, the insertion point for the patella tendon, is not in the correct spot. It is about a centimeter more lateral than it should be which increases the risk of patella dislocations. Awesome that explains a lot. Oh and I have that problem in both knees. Well that explains why I’ve dislocated both patellas now doesn’t it. In order to fix this problem it requires cutting the tuberosity off and moving it to where it should be. Yeah that sounds like a long time to recover from. Also they would need to do a lateral release and repair my overstretched retinaculum. So yeah that’s a lot of slicing and dicing and moving of things.
So, once I have the MRI and we can see what the damage is we will make a decision on what the best option is.
I guess I can kiss the days of the gym goodbye for at least a month. It’s killing me. I miss it already.
Damn you knee and my silly anatomy.

Leave a Reply

