Impending Snow!!!!

The last 3 winters I spent in Wyoming. Well it’s Wyoming what do you think those winters were like. I’ll tell you cold, windy, and full of snow, lots and lots of snow.
Last year it started snowing in September and didn’t end until June. There was lots of snow and I spent a lot of days using the snow blower and shoveling, along with a lot of cursing Mother Nature.
This winter living in VA has been great. I think there has been 2 maybe 3 times where there has been a little snow on my car and by little I mean less than an inch.
However, that little amount of snow doesn’t seem to deter the place from going into complete panic mode. And, well we have Winter Storm Octavia barreling down on us, and by barreling down I mean we may get up to 4 inches of snow. Holy Cow 4 inches of snow!!!!! However, will we cope with it. I mean literally that is the response with this storm. The governor has declared a state of emergency, schools are cancelled for tomorrow, I actually got an email from one of the doctor’s office saying they were closing tomorrow and if the roads weren’t cleared by Wednesday they’d close than too. The television has been setting off the emergency alert and flashing all day with the storm warning and my phone has been buzzing with storm updates. The news stations are on full blown storm tracking updating and setting things abuzz. Talking with VDOT and how they are preparing to deal with this storm. The power company and how they are working to make sure customers don’t lose power and volunteer organizations and all of the shelters that are set up. Okay, we do realize they said inches not feet right.
I’ve been shaking my head all day going is this sh*t for real. Apparently it is and I feel bad for these people and thankful that they don’t live in the Boston area right now because those poor guys have been getting hammered. And, I’m sure all of those New Englanders are probably laughing and shaking their heads at these crazy people here in VA that are loosing their minds over the possibility of up to 4 inches of snow.
Although, my husband got a bit worked up this morning. He was all I got to go find the shovels and make sure we know where they are. Uhmmmm dear you do realize they said 4 inches right. I can assure you if he wasn’t home I str wouldn’t know where the shovels are and nor would I care because 4 inches of snow doesn’t warrant my time to even think about shoveling. That barely registers on my I guess I should at least brush the hood of my car off before I drive amount of snow. But, hey if we get snow we’ve got the shovels ready.
Bring it Winter Storm Octavia.

Leave a Reply

