Nice Day For A RidE

Right before the husband left for work we bought a bike for me. However, it has been sitting in the garage not getting any use as I was working on the house. Well the house is done, and I didn’t have a job scheduled for today. 

So today was the day that I finally took it out for a serious spin. The day we brought the bike home I did do a quick trip around the block. 

We are really fortunate to live right on a gorgeous bike path. I mean it’s basically out my front door. Okay I do have to cross the street to get on it, but it’s right here. The path takes you into the state park that is about a mile and a half from the house and loops all through the park. 

Being as today was my first time riding the bike I decided I do a 30 minute ride. I’d see how far I made it in 15 minutes and then turn back. 

I am happy to report I made it into the park and rode about a half a mile through the park and then turned back to head home. 

It was a really nice ride. It’s wooded so pretty shady and cool and the bugs weren’t even bad. Which is a good thing since I completely forgot to douse myself in bug spray before I left. 

The only part about the entire ride is that the path crosses a major road so it’s a bit like playing Frogger at that point. I wish they would put in a crosswalk light in that area. I think it would be a little bit safer, but I just sat and waited for a time when it was exceptionally clear and crossed the road. 

One thing I figured out very quickly on my ride. I hate my bicycle seat. It’s super hard and very uncomfortable. I’m either going to get used to it or I’ll be looking for something new in the future. 

   
 
There’s my stats for this ride. Hey it’s my first time riding a bike in I don’t even know how long and it was just a cruise I wasn’t out to break any records. Oh and my bike is a beach cruiser. So yeah not a bike designed to be ridden hard or fast. But, hey I still got in a nice little workout and enjoyed the outdoors. 

Next time I’ll even wear the heart rate monitor to see how I’m really doing. 

Leave a Reply

